Greenhill Senior Wins Davey O'Brien High School Scholarship Award

Senior Announced as Winner of Davey O'Brien High School Scholarship Award

Congratulations to Josie Arbuckle '24 who was announced as the winner of the 38th Annual Davey O'Brien High School Scholarship.

Greenhill student Josie Arbuckle '24 was announced as the recipient of the 38th Annual Davey O'Brien High School Scholarship Award and will receive a $30,000 scholarship.
“We are pleased to award Josie with the 2023 Davey O’Brien High School Scholarship and honored to welcome her to the Davey O’Brien Foundation family,” David O’Brien Jr., Chairman of the High School Scholarship Selection Committee, said. 

The scholarship, partially underwritten by Higginbotham and Simmons Bank, is presented each year to an exceptional senior student-athlete in North Texas. Recipients of the High School Scholarship Award are chosen based on scholastic achievements, community service, character, leadership, and varsity sports participation. As part of the selection process, the committee will interview all five finalists last week.
Josie is in her fourth year as a member of the Greenhill swimming team and her second year as Team Captain. Setting records since her freshman year, Josie holds the school records in the 200-meter freestyle, 200-meter individual medley, 50-meter freestyle, 100-meter freestyle, 200-meter freestyle team relay, and 400-meter freestyle team relay. She holds the SPC record in the 50-meter freestyle and 100-meter freestyle, and she has earned all-conference and team MVP honors each of her first three years.

Josie is an AP Scholar with Honors and Senior Class Vice President. Josie co-founded a scoliosis nonprofit organization called "Let's Get It Straight" and co-founded Greenhill's Hornet Huddle program. She also helps coach the Hornet Sports Association Developmental Swim team. She also has participated in the school’s Care Club and the TPWK (Treat People with Kindness) Club.
The High School Scholarship, first awarded in 1986, applies to the college or university of the winner’s choice. Recipients over the past 15 years have attended schools such as Columbia University, Harvard University, Johns Hopkins University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Northwestern University, Pomona College, Princeton University, Rice University, Stanford University, Texas A&M University, Texas Christian University, the University of Texas at San Antonio, Vanderbilt University and the University of Virginia. 

Since its formation in 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has distributed over $1.3 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field to leadership in life. 


Other News